Academy Awards 2019
image source

When it comes to the creation of movies, a lot of work goes into producing masterpieces that will stand the test of time while breaking the barriers of culture and language. When these type of movies are made there are two things which happen one of which is they break even at Box offices – which is not a given, secondly they get recognition from award bodies. One of these award bodies is the Academy Awards also known as the Oscars (named after the little golden statue of a man given to winners). This article dishes out some of the things you should know about the Academy Awards 2019.

When is Academy Awards 2019?

The awards this year will hold on the 24th of February in Los Angeles, California in the Dolby Theatre. The Academy Awards is one of the most prestigious awards in the American movie industry, nominated movies that do not win the award for the category they got nominated in, are still considered as great movies and the nomination an acknowledgment of the film’s excellence.

Everything You Need to Know About The Oscars

History of the Academy Awards

As previously stated the Academy awards for the year 2019 will hold on the 24th of February, in the same venue that has been used since 2002, this will mark the 91st edition of the awards. The 16th of May in 1929, was the date the first Oscars held and it had in attendance only 270 guests, the number of guests expected to arrive at this year’s event is more than double that figure.

Since its inception in 1929, the awards and the ceremony attached to it has gone through many changes, some of which are the total concealment of the award winners until the night of the ceremony, especially after the Los Angeles Times’ leak of 1941. The tradition prior to that was the release of the winners’ list to newspaper houses who in turn released the list after the awards, but in 1941 the Los Angeles Times released the list before the award ceremony started.

Nomination Categories

Unlike the Emmy’s, where all awards are solely for excellence in Television, the Academy awards is targeted at just movies and is made up of twenty-four categories with at least four nominations in each category. To clarify, they do not award just movies which will be limiting, but they give awards to performances and the people who worked in all aspects of the film to make it a master class, this includes but not limited to make-up artists, cinematographers, writers, and editors.

Academy Awards 2019
Winners from the 2018 Academy Awards (image source)

Here are some of the awards that are given annually and will be given at the Academy Awards 2019 as well, they are:

  • Best Film
  • Best Design
  • Best Sound Editing
  • Best Animated Film
  • Best Foreign Language Film and others.

Among these categories, there is a reserved list that is for special recognition of people who have achieved so much in their time in the movie industry.

See Also: Oscars 2019 Time, Venue, Nominations, Who Will Host The Award Ceremony?

Special Recognition Awards

The special recognition awards are six in number; however, they are not given annually. Those slated for the Academy Awards 2019 are:

  • Academy Honorary Award – it was called the Special Award in the past and is given to more than one person or even a production house for their creation of a stellar film.
  • The Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award Academy – only 38 people have received this award and is awarded to the person who has being exceptional in their giving to humanitarian endeavors.
  • Scientific and Technical Award – this award is split in three and recognizes technological and scientific developments in the movie industry.
  • The same goes for the Gordon E. Sawyer Award named after the sound director Gordon E. Sawyer.
  • The Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award is not an Oscar rather it is a bust of Irving Thalberg, it is awarded to producers that never fail to create movies that are of the best quality.
  • The Academy Special Achievement Award, this is awarded to those who in their contribution to the film industry have been exceptional and have stood apart from others.

This year only two of the special awards will be given and they the Academy Honorary Award and the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award, the former has 3 recipients while the latter has 2 recipients.

The Oscars are known for the awarding and recognition of movies, actors and crew members that have been exceptional in the art of film creation. The 91st Academy award slated to hold on the 24th of February of 2019, promises to be as awe-inspiring as any of the previous 90 award ceremonies.

data-matched-content-rows-num="2" data-matched-content-columns-num="4" data-matched-content-ui-type="image_stacked" data-ad-format="autorelaxed">