Jammeh Left Standing Alone As Adama Barrow Finally Gets Sworn In Outside Gambia

Adama Barrow’s Inauguration– Gambia’s Adama Barrow who fled to Senegal as a matter of caution is to be sworn in this evening as the next Gambian president in the neighboring country.

Barrow’s Tweeter account revealed that the swearing in will take place at the Gambian embassy in Dakar at 16:00 GMT.

An initial report from the party spokesperson hinted that the inauguration would take place in an undisclosed Gambian location. Barrow’s Tweet seems to have more credibility than the previous report.

See Also: Gambia Crisis: National Assembly Says Jammeh Can Stay In Power


The several resignations by government officials is perhaps a show of disapproval as President Jammeh seems to be left alone in his quest to remain as the leader of the West African country.

About 8 ministers and the Vice President have all unceremoniously resigned from their positions.

Report says that Ministers for Environment, Foreign Affairs, Finance, Trade, Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology and Religious Affairs, have all stepped down.

Dr. Aboubacar Senghore, Minister of Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology and Religious Affairs, said:

“I have been under unsurmountable pressure to resign from 9th December 2016 but I have been morally and legally duty bound to continue serving under your leadership to the end of your tenure. Given my strong religious and legal background, I feel it is now ethically and legally speaking time to step down.”

See Also: President-Elect, Adama Barrow’s Son Dies From Dog Bite; As Tension Rises In Gambia

Aside the resignations, the army chief, once reported to have pledged his loyalty to the President, has now taken an opposite stand.

Ousman Badjie, Chief of Defence Staff, said:

“We are not going to involve ourselves militarily. This is a political dispute.”

“I am not going to involve my soldiers in a stupid fight. I love my men.”

Report says that as of now there are troops from Senegal, Ghana, Nigeria, Mali and Togo at the borders of Senegal.