This Year's AFRIMMA

The House of Blues, Dallas, Texas, USA was the host for this year’s AFRIMMA, which is short for the African Muzik Magazine Awards. This year’s AFRIMMA was held on October 8 and was a celebration of pure African talent.

The show which was hosted by Bright Okpocha, better known by his stage name Basketmouth and Chipukeezy, was a gathering of the best in African music, from Tiwa Savage to Fally Ipupa.

The African Muzik Magazine Awards, every year since its inception in July 2014, has honoured Africans who, in the past years, did works that were judged to be worthy of recognition.

The organizers pride themselves on the fact that AFRIMMA is the only award ceremony in the Diaspora that caters for all musical genres including Afrobeats, Assiko, Bongo, Decale, Funana, Genge, Highlife, Hiplife, Kwaito, Lingala and Soukous.

Two new categories were added to the 2017 edition of AFRIMMA, Best Lusophone and Best Francophone. The idea is to be able to further cast the spotlight as well as recognize and represent the artists from these regions also on the world stage.

Nigerian music stars topped the winning chat at the 2017 AFRIMA with the likes of Davido, Wizkid, Tiwa Savage, Dj Spinall, Dj Tunez among others being rewarded for their good jobs in the development of African Music.

Among this year’s AFRIMMA winners were South African record producer Cassper Nyovest, Nigerian rapper Folarin Falana also known as Falz and Tanzanian singer Diamond Platnumz. Falz, for the first time, received the award for the Best Male Artist of the year. Nigerian hip-hop artist Olamide took the same award in the previous year with Tecno’s song ‘Duro’ winning the song of the year.

Nigerian singer David Adeleke, also known as Davido, won both the Artist of the Year award and the Song of the Year Award with his 2017 hit, ‘IF’. He was able to beat Wizkid to win Song of The Year while Wizkid won the best collaboration with his hit song ‘African Bad Girl’

Video director Oladapo Fagbenle, professionally known as Daps won the Best Director award, and Dj Tunez of Nigeria won the award’s foreign category.

The nominees, according to Ekukole one of the members of AFRIMMA from Cameroon, were picked based on production quality, talent and creativity, melody, originality and authenticity as well as composition and arrangement.

Check out the full list of the 2017 AFRIMMA winners below:

Best Male West Africa – Falz (Nigeria)

Best Female West Africa –Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)

Best Male North Africa – Amr Diab (Egypt)

Best Female North Africa –Amani Swissi (Tunisia)

Best DJ Africa – Dj Spinall (Nigeria)

Best Male East Africa –Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)

This Year's AFRIMMA

Best Female East Africa –  Victoria Kimani (Kenya)

Best African DJ USA – Dj Tunez  (Nigeria)

Best Male Central Africa – C4 Pedro (Angola)

AFRIMMA Video of The Year – Fally Ipupa – Eloko Iyo Congo

Best Female Central Africa – Nsoki (Angola)

Music Producer of the Year –  Julz (Ghana)

Best Male Southern Africa – Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)

Best African Dancer – Ghetto Triplets Kids  – Uganda

Best Female Southern Africa – Babes Wodumo (South Africa)

Best Rap Act – Sarkodie (Ghana)

Best African Group – Toofan – Togo

Best Collaboration Award – Wizkid  ft Chris Brown – African Bad Girl (Nigeria & USA)

Song of The Year – Davido – IF (Nigeria)

Best Gospel Act – Nathaniel Bassey (Nigeria)

Artist of The Year – Davido (Nigeria)

Best Newcomer – Nsoki (Angola)

Best Dancehall Act – Timaya (Nigeria)

Best Video Director – Daps (Nigeria)

 Interesting Facts About AFRIMMA

  1. The African Muzik Magazine Awards (AFRIMMA) was first launched on 6th of July, 2014 at Eisseman Center, Dallas, Texas with the likes of Fally Ipupa, Eddy kenzo, Tekno, Davido and Flavour, among others, being the first to receive awards.
  2. The second edition of the muzik award was held on October 10th, 2015 while the third and fourth editions took place on October 15, 2016, and October 8, 2017, respectively.
  3. The 2017 AFRMMA nominees were listed in 33 Different Categories which comprises the Regional Category covering the five African regions (Eastern, Southern, Western, Northern & Central) and the genre-based Continental Category.
  4. The list of nominees is usually released weeks before the award night and voters are expected to vote for their best artists at
data-matched-content-rows-num="2" data-matched-content-columns-num="4" data-matched-content-ui-type="image_stacked" data-ad-format="autorelaxed">