Bolbbalgan4 (BOL4 or Blushing Youth) – Members Profile, Info & Trivia

Bolbbalgan4 with genres spanning K-pop, folk-rock, Rhythm & Blue, and Indie pop, is a South Korean duo formed by Shofar Music in 2016. While most K-pop groups have a minimum of 7 or 8 members, BOL4 has only 2 cute girls, Woo Ji-yoon and Ahn Ji-young. They debuted on the 22nd of April, 2016, with the single Fight Day from the mini-album Red Ickle in Korea. The album was a 5-song playlist and had tracks named Chocolate, Ring, and Mean with the total length being about 15 minutes. Bolbbalgan4 members debuted in Japan on the 5th of June, 2019 with a mini-album titled Red Planet. It appeared in Japan’s largest summer festival “SUMMER SONIC 2019”.

Much like the anime, Sonico The Animation, Ji-yoon and Ji-young became friends in high school in Yeonju, Gyeongsangbuk-do. They then started a four-member band together before appearing in the sixth season of the South Korean television talent show series Super K, which premiered on the 22nd of August, 2014 on Mnet. The winner of that finale was Kwak Jin-eon while Kim Feel was the runner up. The winner got about $470,000 worth of prizes and benefits, $280,000 in cash and an extra $188,324 for record producing.

BOL4 went on a temporary hiatus due to Ji-young’s music class requirements in the first half of 2018. Ji-young didn’t complete her schooling at the university successfully. Her department placed her on probation forcing her to seriously face her studies.

Bolbbalgan4 – Members Profile


Bolbbalgan4 Members

Ji-young was born on the 14th of September, 1995 and was raised in Yeongju, South Korea. She represents the ‘youth’ part of Bolbbalgan4 members because she acts like an adolescent girl. She’s also the main vocalist. Ji-young’s hobby is going to a supermarket and she can mimic the voices of Na Moon-hee and Crayon Shin-chan. She is not a fan of TV programs and her ideal type of partner is a person who has a good voice.

See Also: Why Did The Pristin (Pledis Girlz) Get Disbanded And Are They Coming Back?

Ji-young has various facial expressions including Aegyo. For the uninitiated, Aegyo refers to a cute display of affection often expressed including but not limited to through a cute/baby voice, facial expressions, and gestures. Aegyo literally means behaving in a flirtatious, coquette-ish manner and it is commonly expected for both male and female K-pop idols to behave this way. However, it is not uncommon for everyday people to behave in such a way, and is widely used as an expression of affection to loved ones, families, and friends.


Bolbbalgan4 Members

Ji-yoon was born on the 6th of January, 1996 and was also raised in Yeongju, South Korea. She is the shy one among the two members of Bolbbalgan4. Ji-yoon is the main rapper, sub vocalist, guitarist, and maknae of BOL4. Maknae is a common Korean term used by older people, generally young adults, to refer to the youngest in a group. Usually a group of friends. It’s often used as a title in place of their name.

Ji-yoon’s trademark is the rectangle smile and she can do a vocal mimicry of a woodpecker. Ji-yoon is also very good at girl group dances. Her ideal type is a person who can cook well. She doesn’t care about how the person looks.

Info & Trivia About Bolbbalgan4

1. BOL4 has had a couple of collaboration albums. The first was the Shofar Music Compilation Vol.2 Romantic Wish with various artists like Kim Sa Rang, Letter Flow, Sweden Laundry, Twenty Years of Age, and Vanilla Acoustic that was released in 2016.

2. They released We Loved, another collaboration album with 20 Years of Age, a South Korean singer-songwriter under Shofar Music in 2017.

3. BOL4 was featured by Mad Clown in the single Lost Without You in 2017. In the same year, they were featured by San E in Mohae. Sohee also did a feature with the Bolbbalgan4 members on the single Hurry Up in 2018.

4. BOL4 has provided fans with some awesome OSTs, namely Misaeng OST Part 4 in 2014, Hwarang: The Beginning OST Part 3 in 2016, The Emperor: Owner of the Mask OST Part 2 in 2017, and Why: The Real Reason You Got Dumped OST Part 1 in 2018.

5. BOL4 has five mini-albums; Red Ickle, the debut album of 2016; Red Diary Page.1, released in 2017; Red Diary Page.2, which was released in 2018, Youth Diary 1: Flower Energy released in 2019 as well as Two Five also in 2019.


Featured Today

Related Stories