CAF Releases African Player Of The Year Shortlist For The GLO-CAF Awards

Ahead of the Glo CAF awards, coming up in January, the organization has released the players shortlisted for the African Footballer of the Year award, as well as the Player of the Year (Based In Africa) award category.

The Player of the year nominee list featured Algeria’s Riyad Mahrez and Islam Slimani, current African Footballer of the Year, Pierre Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon, Sadio Mane of Senegal and Egypt’s Mohammed Salah.

SEE ALSO: Interesting Facts About Pierre Emerick Aubameyang

The organization had initially published a 30-man list which featured some of Nigeria’s golden stars including National team captain, John Mikel Obi, Man City forward and 2013 CAF most promising talent of the year, Kelechi Iheanacho and Ahmed Musa but all were snobbed .

The west African country, which recently defeated Algeria to remain in top position to qualify for the World Cup, were also missing from the Player of the Year (Based In Africa) nominations. The list includes:  Dennis Onyango, Hlompho Kekana, Keegan Dolly and Khama Billiat of the Mamelodi Sundowns of South Africa,  who recently won the African Champions League.

mamelodi sundowns

T.P Mazembe player, Rainford Kabala from Zambia was also included in the list.

The CAF is yet to publish nominees of other categories, nonetheless, they will be made public in the following weeks. Some of the caegories include: Most Promising Talent Award, National team of the year, Football Manager of the Year, Africa’s Finest Eleven, Goal of the Year and Save of the Year, as well as Referee of the Year, CAF fair play Award and African Legend Award.

The winners of each category will be decided by votes of head coaches, as well as technical directors of national associations affiliated with CAF.

SEE ALSO: The BBC African Footballer Of The Year 2016 Award Draws Close, Get Ready To Vote – Here’s How

The GLO CAF awards are scheduled to take place in Abuja, Nigeria’s capital on 5th January.