CAF AWARDS: Mahrez Is Africa’s Best Footballer In 2016, See Full List Of Winners

Algerian and Leicester City forward, Riyad Mahrez has been crowned the African Player of The Year 2016.

He was presented with his award at the just-concluded GLO CAF awards which took place in Abuja, Nigeria.

SEE ALSO: Riyad Mahrez Wins BBC African Player Of The Year Award

Mahrez edged out Gabon and Borrussia Dortmund striker, Pierre Emmerick-Aubameyang who took home the prize last year, and Senegal and Liverpool’s Sadio Mane.

Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala took home the award for the Women Footballer of the year. Nigeria’s Super Falcons won the Women’s National Team Of The Year on the back of their victory at the African Women Nation’s Cup.

The Men’s National Team Of The Year was awarded to the Ugandan team who lately qualified for the  African Nation’s cup–their first since 1978.

SEE ALSO: Uganda Qualifies For African Nation’s Cup For First Time In 38 Years

See the Full list of Winners Below:

1. Uganda: National team of the year

2. Super Falcons: Women’s national team of the year

3. Mamelodi Sundowns: Club of the year

4. Kelechi Iheanacho: Most promising talent

5. Alex Iwobi: Youth player of the year

6. Pitso Mosimane: Coach of the year

7. Asisat Oshoala: Women’s player of the year

8. Bakary Papa Gassama: Referee of the year

9. Laurent Pokou and Emilienne Mbango: Legend awards

10. Denis ONYANGO: Player of the year based in Africa

Africa's finest XI CAF 2017

11. Team of the year: Goalkeeper: Denis ONYANGO (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Defenders: Serge AURIER (Cote d’Ivoire & Paris Saint-Germain), Aymen ABDENNOUR (Tunisia & Valencia), Eric BAILLY (Cote d’Ivoire & Manchester United), Joyce LOMALISA (DR Congo & AS Vita)

Midfielders: Khama BILLIAT (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns), Rainford KALABA (Zambia & TP Mazembe), Keegan DOLLY (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns),

Forwards: Pierre-Emerick AUBAMEYANG (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund), Sadio MANE (Senegal & Liverpool), Riyad MAHREZ (Algeria & Leicester City)

12. President Muhammadu Buhari: CAF Platinum Award

13. African Player of the Year:

Riyad MAHREZ (Algeria & Leicester City) 1st place winner

Pierre-Emerick AUBAMEYANG (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund) 2nd place winner
Sadio MANE (Senegal & Liverpool) – 3rd place winner