Check Out The 55 Name Shortlist Published For FIFA FIFPro World 11 2016

FIFA, together with the worldwide players’ union and FIFPro, announced the final 55-player shortlist for the FIFA FIFPro World 11 2016 on Thursday.

The list is put together by considering votes from more than 25,000 professional footballers from over 75 different countries. Each of these players are allowed to select one goalkeeper, four defenders, three midfielders and three forwards. FIFPro and its national affiliates are then responsible for gathering votes from the professional footballers.

See Also: Ronaldinho And Juan Riquelme Offer To Help Chapecoense

Checkout the 55-player shortlist for the FIFPro World 11 2016, the shortlist is divided into the categories of goalkeepers, defenders, midfielders and strikers.

Five goalkeepers were nominated for this years FIFPro World 11:

  • Claudio Bravo (Chile/FC Barcelona/Manchester City)
  • Gianluigi Buffon (Italy/Juventus)
  • David de Gea (Spain/Manchester United)
  • Keylor Navas (Costa Rica/Real Madrid)
  • Manuel Neuer (Germany/FC Bayern Munich)


Twenty defenders were nominated for this year’s FIFPro World 11:

  • David Alaba (Austria/FC Bayern Munich)
  • Jordi Alba (Spain/FC Barcelona)
  • Serge Aurier (Côte d’Ivoire/Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Héctor Bellerìn (Spain/Arsenal)
  • Jérôme Boateng (Germany/FC Bayern Munich)
  • Leonardo Bonucci (Italy/Juventus)
  • Daniel Carvajal (Spain/Real Madrid)
  • Giorgio Chiellini (Italy/Juventus)
  • Dani Alves (Brazil/FC Barcelona/Juventus)
  • David Luiz (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain/Chelsea)
  • Diego Godín (Uruguay/Atlético Madrid)
  • Mats Hummels (Germany/Borussia Dortmund/FC Bayern Munich)
  • Philipp Lahm (Germany/FC Bayern Munich)
  • Marcelo (Brazil/Real Madrid)
  • Javier Mascherano (Argentina/FC Barcelona)
  • Pepe (Portugal/Real Madrid)
  • Gerard Piqué (Spain/FC Barcelona)
  • Sergio Ramos (Spain/Real Madrid)
  • Thiago Silva (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Raphaël Varane (France/Real Madrid)

See Also: CAF Releases African Player Of The Year Shortlist For The GLO-CAF Awards

Fifteen midfielders were nominated for this year’s FIFPro World 11:

  • Xabi Alonso (Spain/FC Bayern Munich)
  • Sergio Busquets (Spain/FC Barcelona)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium/Manchester City)
  • Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea)
  • Andrés Iniesta (Spain/FC Barcelona)
  • N’Golo Kanté (France/Leicester City/Chelsea)
  • Toni Kroos (Germany/Real Madrid)
  • Luka Modrić (Croatia/Real Madrid)
  • Mesut Özil (Germany/Arsenal)
  • Dimitri Payet (France/West Ham United)
  • Paul Pogba (France/Juventus/Manchester United)
  • Ivan Rakitić (Croatia/FC Barcelona)
  • David Silva (Spain/Manchester City)
  • Marco Verratti (Italy/Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Arturo Vidal (Chile/FC Bayern Munich)

FIFPro World 11

Fifteen strikers were nominated for this year’s FIFPro World 11:

  • Sergio Agüero (Argentina/Manchester City)
  • Gareth Bale (Wales/Real Madrid)
  • Karim Benzema (France/Real Madrid)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid)
  • Paulo Dybala (Argentina/Juventus)
  • Antoine Griezmann (France/Atlético Madrid)
  • Gonzalo Higuaín (Argentina/Napoli/Juventus)
  • Zlatan Ibrahimović (Sweden/Paris Saint-Germain/Manchester United)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Poland/FC Bayern Munich)
  • Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona)
  • Thomas Müller (Germany/FC Bayern Munich)
  • Neymar (Brazil/FC Barcelona)
  • Alexis Sánchez (Chile/Arsenal)
  • Luis Suárez (Uruguay/FC Barcelona)
  • Jamie Vardy (England/Leicester City)

FIFPro World 11

The final FIFA FIFPro World 11 will be announced at The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony at the Zurich TPC studios on 9 January 2017.

The ceremony will also see the crowning of; The Best FIFA Men’s Player 2016, The Best FIFA Women’s Player 2016, The Best FIFA Men’s Coach 2016, The Best FIFA Women’s Coach 2016, The FIFA Puskás Award 2016, The FIFA Fan Award and The FIFA Fair Play Award.