With the increasing competition between telecommunication services providers in Nigeria, customers are at the receiving end of the numerous benefits these telcos come up with every now and then, as they struggle to outdo each other and win more subscribers. One of the numerous value-added service offerings telecom service users enjoy currently in Nigeria is the ability to share airtime and data with anyone on the same network as them. Glo has taken the service offering a bit further, while the network allows for data to be shared, it also gives room for users to unshare this data at any given time.
Ever thought of how you can share and unshare data using your Glo network? Well, the network operative has created different methods to share and unshare data. These methods include online and offline which can be done using the USSD command or through the use of text message. All the methods, however, end in the same result.
Who Can You Share Glo Data With?
Glo data sharing allows for subscribers to share their data with any other Glo subscriber. Interestingly, this sharing can be done at any time without minding the distance between the person sharing the data and the recipient.
With Glo, you can share data with a maximum of 5 people who use the Glo network. If you intend to add any number to your share list even if it reaches the maximum, you are allowed to remove any number of your choice and replace it with the new one.
Glo data can be shared with any Glo subscriber who will receive a notification message with immediate access to the internet.
How To Share Data On Glo: The Code To Use
There are different options one can choose from when it comes to data sharing.
Online Sharing: This can be done with internet connectivity via http://mobileapp.gloworld.com/glocafe. Also, you can visit the Glo HIS portal on hsi.glo.com from your device (using Glo SIM) and use the sharing feature.
Offline Sharing: The offline Glo data sharing has two important features subscribers are allowed to choose from. They are the USSD method and SMS method. Using USSD to share data, you can dial *127*01*recipient’s number#. Using text, on the other hand, type ‘Share [recipient’s phone number]’ to 127.
In the text method, it is important for subscribers to understand that if the words are not clearly written, the network operative can decline data sharing. For example, the word ‘Share’ and the recipient’s number are separated by a space, and if the two are joined, an error message might be received by the user instead of a successful one.
If your data sharing is successful, you and the recipient get notified. The number you share data with starts to enjoy browsing, social media, and streaming once you subscribe to a data plan or borrow.
How Can You Unshare Data On Glo?
There are several reasons a subscriber may want to unshare data. Like in the case of sharing the data, there are different options one can choose from when it comes to unsharing your data.
USSD method: If your preferred choice is the UUSD, you can dial *127*02*phone number to remove#.
In addition to the USSD method of sharing data, there is another method that is longer than the first. However, this method is the most popular and it allows you to see other options of buying data, gifting, sharing, and even checking your data bundle among others.
To get this, dial *777# then send. This will automatically show you options.
- Type 1 (Buy Data) and send.
- Another pop-up message will appear on the screen with options of ‘Buy 3G-4G Data Plan’, ‘Gift Plan’, and ‘Share Plan’ among others.
- At this point, you’re expected to type 3 (Share Plan) which will bring another pop-up message with options of sharing and unsharing.
- Type 2 (Unshare) and send. A
- gain, a message will appear asking you to type the number you want to unshare your plan with.
When the above is done, a notification will be sent to you informing you that your message has been sent and a message will be sent to you.
SMS method: by texting ‘remove [phone number to remove] and sending to 127, you can unshare your Glo data at any time.
Once your request is successful, you will receive a message notifying you that you have successfully removed a number from your data sharing list.
Note that only numbers you include in your Glo data share list can be unshared. Therefore, you may want to check your share list before trying to unshare your data.
Ways To Check Your Shared List
As in the case of sharing and unsharing data, you have options to choose from when checking your data ‘share’ list. You can either text the word ‘List’ to 127 or use the USSD code of *127*00#. When the SMS option is used, you’ll receive a text with your data share list. If the USSD command is used, a list of share numbers will appear.
What To Do If You Can’t Share Or Unshare Glo Data Plan?
On different sites, there have been several complaints about subscribers’ lack of ability to either share or unshare Glo data plan. If you find yourself in a situation such as this, be sure to check and recheck the method you’re using. When this is done and there is still no luck, try changing the method you’re using. For example, if you are using the USSD command, try the text method and vice-versa.
There are several other reasons why adding or removing a number from your data share list can come out successfully or not. They include using a line that is not Glo to share or unshare data plan, unsharing your data with a number you didn’t add to your share list, network error, or trying to share your plan with a number that does not belong to a Glo network.
However, if you don’t fall under any of the categories mentioned above and you still find it difficult to share and unshare data, you may want to call the network’s helpline to lay your complaints. This can be done by dialing 121 or 200, or by sending an email to [email protected].
Is It Possible To Transfer Glo Data To Another Number?
Apart from just sharing airtime, Glo has also made it possible for subscribers to transfer data to other Glo numbers. Instead of buying different data for multiple people, some may prefer to just buy and share amongst family and friends.
The important thing to note is that any data that is transferred to a number also share the same validity and function as the main data. For example, when you buy 10GB for 30 days and transfer all or some of it to your friends, the entire data will expire on the day the main data is expiring.
It is easy, however, for one to confuse sharing data on the Glo network and transferring data. While with share your friends access from your own data, with transfer, you send them a specific amount of data. When you share, they keep using until yours finishes but when you transfer, once the amount of data you sent finishes, they cannot use from your own.
Also known as data gifting, you can either make a direct purchase for a friend or transfer a part from what you have. Here is the process to do either:
- Go to the Glo website or Click here to gift. You will be required to sign in to your account before you can continue.
- Or you can dial *127*[USSD_Plan_Number]*[friend’s number]#
- Via text message, simply send “Gift [friend’s number]” to 127.