Swimmer Michael Phelps Continues With Olympic Winning Streak, Wins 20th And 21st Gold Medal

Michael Phelps is without a doubt the most decorated Olympian of all time and that was even before this year’s Rio Olympic Games.

He has added even more medals to his repertoire as a swimming champ, making his record even harder to beat down the line.

Fondly referred to as the most successful Olympian of all time, Michael Phelps claimed his second gold medal in a night and the 21st gold medal of his career when the United States won the men’s 4×200 metres Olympic freestyle relay on Tuesday.

See Also: Van Der Burgh Wins First Medal For South Africa At Rio Olympics

He had won his 20th gold medal earlier on Tuesday when he came out victorious in the 200m butterfly. With the wins, he managed to extend his career tally to a total of 25 medals, including two silver and two bronze.

Michael Phelps

In the men’s 4×200 metres Olympic freestyle relay, Americans had been in the lead throughout. The fans watched as Conor Dewey handed over to Townley Haas, then Ryan Lochte who handed over to Michael Phelps. The crowd went wild as Phelps then sprang from the block with a lead of 1.76 seconds over Japan and 2.88 seconds over Britain.

See Also: Swim Or Die: Syrian Refugee Swims From Turkey To Greece… And Now Wins At The Olympics

The win marked the fourth successive US Olympic victory in the event. In the 200­meter butterfly, Phelps had a winning time of 1 minute, 53.36 seconds.

Michael Phelps

Masato Sakai of Japan won silver and Tamas Kenderesi of Hungary took home the bronze. The winning time fell short of the world record of 1:51.51, which was set by Phelps at the 2009 World Aquatics Championships in Rome.

His fianceé, Nicole Johnson, and newborn son, Boomer (who soon stole the heart of social media fans when a picture of him was posted on the Olympic Facebook page), looked on from the stands.

Michael Phelps

In addition to his medals (so far) at the Rio 2016 Games, Phelps won six at the 2012 London Olympics, eight in Beijing in 2008, and another eight in Athens in 2004.