akinwade receives US highest honor award PECASE

A Nigerian professor of the University of Texas, Deji Akinwade has been chosen by President Barack Obama to be one of the recipients of the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE).

The award is considered “the highest honor bestowed by the US government for science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers”.

“These early career scientists are leading the way in our efforts to confront and understand challenges from climate change to our health and wellness,” the President said in announcement of the nominees.

“We congratulate these accomplished individuals and encourage them to continue to serve as an example of the incredible promise and ingenuity of the American people.”

SEE ALSO: Meet Wall Street’s Super-Woman And Money Bag – Suzanne Shank

Deji Akinwade is an associate professor at the University of Texas, where he teaches electoral and computer engineering. Prior to this, he graduated from Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, Ohio with a combined (B.S/M.S.) degree in electrical engineering and applied physics. He also finished his Masters degree in the same school where he championed the design and development of near field microwave probe tips for nondestructive imaging and studies of materials. He completed his doctorate degree at the Stanford University.

The professor also has a wide range of inventions to his name. He has a research group called the Akinwade Nano Research Group where his team conducts “basic and applied research at the frontier of nanomaterials, flexible nanoelectronics, bioelectronics, RF integrated circuits, and electromagnetics.” He created the first transistor made out of silicene (the world’s thinnest silicon material), among others.

His career achievements have not gone unnoticed. Akinwade has been the recipient of various awards prior to the Presidential Early Career Award. Among them are;

  • IEEE Nanotechnology Early Career Award, 2015
  • Engineering School Nominee for Texas System Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award, 2015
  • TI/Jack Kilby Endowed Faculty Fellowship, 2013-present
  • IEEE Senior Member, 2013
  • IEEE NANO Geim and Novoselov (Inaugural) Graphene Prize 2012
  • NSF Faculty CAREER Award 2012
  • DTRA Young Investigator Award 2012
  • 3M Nontenured Faculty Award 2012
  • Army Research Office Young Investigator Award 2011
  • Office of Naval Research Grant Award 2010
  • Stanford Future-Faculty DARE Fellow, 2008-2010 (12 fellows selected out of 110 senior Ph.D Candidates from all the Schools at Stanford University)
  • Ford Foundation Fellow, 2006-2009 (60 fellows out of over 1000 applicants)
  • Alfred P. Sloan Scholar, 2006-2008 (Selected Stanford Ph.D Candidate)
  • Stanford EE314 Course (RF Integrated Circuit Design): “Design Award” for outstanding Low-Noise Amplifier Designs by Prof. Thomas Lee (1 of 3 out of a class of ~150 students)

SEE ALSO: Thessalonika Arzu-Embry: Doctorate Degree At 16 – Absolutely Dumbfounding!