Nominate A Farmer To Win The Africa Food Prize

Nominations are now open for the 2016 Africa Food Prize.

The Africa Food Prize is the preeminent award for recognizing the extraordinary individual or institution whose contributions to African agriculture are forging a new era of sustainable food security and economic opportunity for all Africans.

The award is set to recognize those Africans– individual or institutions– who are making great efforts to ensure that agriculture in Africa is much more than subsistence farming but an initiative committed to commerce.

The final prize which is a sum of $100,000 US Dolllars is supposed to show support for these enterprising minds.

SEE ALSO: Annie Nyaga: The Watermelon Farmer And Millionaire

The Africa Food Prize which initially began as Yara Prize established in 2005 by Yara International ASA in Norway to honor achievements in African agriculture is now sponsored by funded by Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa (AGRA) and Yara International ASA.

Nominate A Farmer To Win The Africa Food Prize

The panel of judges who include  former Nigerian President Olusegun Obasanjo as the chairman will pick the winner by a unanimous vote. Also, the nominee doesn’t need to be African or residing in Africa. The Africa Food Prize can be awarded to any qualified candidate, irrespective of nationality, profession or location, as long as their work, and outcomes of the work, have had a clear impact on the African situation, nationally, regionally or for the continent.

The Africa Food Prize takes the following criteria to account when considering the nominations;

  1. Contribution to reducing poverty and hunger and/or improving food and nutrition security in measurable terms
  2. Contribution to providing a vital source of income and/or employment in measurable terms
  3. Potential for transformative change through scalability, replication, and sustainability • Increased awareness and cooperation among African audiences and organizations
  4. Proven leadership potential of the individual or organization, specifically the ability of the to persevere despite significant challenges or risks

SEE ALSO: Nakku Justine: Beautiful Millionaire Farmer Proves That Agriculture Is Africa’s Economic Hope

The award will be given annually beginning this year at the African Green Revolution Forum scheduled for 5th until the 9th of September in Nairobi, Kenya.

Nominations for the Africa Food Prize must be sent in before Friday, 10 June 2016.

They can be sent in three ways;

Via post:
Attn: The Africa Food Prize Secretariat
West End Towers, 4th Floor, Kanjata Road
Off Muthangari Drive, off Waiyaki Way
P.O Box 66773, Westlands 00800, Nairobi, Kenya

Via email:
[email protected]

Also by filling out the form on the Africa Food Prize website.