Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang Becomes The Bundesliga’s Player Of The Year

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang is a French-born Gabonese professional footballer. He plays for the German club Borussia Dortmund as well as the Gabon national soccer team.

Aubameyang is famous for running 30 metres in 3.7 seconds. He is a 2-time DFL-Supercup winner. On Thursday, 7th January 2016, African football dignitaries gathered in Abuja, Nigeria to celebrate the annual Glo Confederation of African Footballers (CAF) awards. He is the first Gabonese player to win the award.

See Also: Interesting Facts About Gabon’s International Striker

The Gabon international star began his career at Milan. He later played on loan for 4 French clubs. In 2011, he permanently joined Saint-Étienne.

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang is reportedly one of the most sought after soccer star in the soccer world this summer. According to ESPN, he became a hot cake after scoring 25 Bundesliga goals this season.

The German players’ union conferred him with the title of the German Bundesliga’s Player of the Year. The champ who made six assists in 31 league games as Dortmund finished made it as a runner-up in the Bundesliga expressed his gratitude over the award.

“It’s a great honor to be recognized and appreciated by your fellow colleagues. This is for everyone at Dortmund and our amazing fans.”- Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang

See Also: Vincent Enyeama Is The Only African To Make Europe’s Top 10 Goal Keepers

As an African star Aubameyang has made a couple of interesting records in recent times. He is the first African to win the VDV award since its inception in 1998; and the only African named in the Bundesliga team of the year.

Other stars who made it to the 2015/16 Bundesliga team of the season include:


  • Manuel Neuer


  • Mats Hummels (Bayern Munich)
  • Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munich)
  • David Alaba (Bayern Munich)
  • Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich)


  • Thomas Müller (Bayern Munich)
  • Henrikh Mkhitaryan (Dortmund)
  • Douglas Costa (Bayern Munich)
  • Arturo Vidal (Bayern Munich)


  • Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Dortmund)