South Africa Sports Awards: Full List Of Nominees

The finalists of the SA Sports Awards has been published and it features South Africa’s Olympic gold medalists Caster Semenya and Wayde van Niekerk who won gold in the women’s 800m and 400m respectively.

The awards will hold at the Sand du Plessis Theatre in Mangaung, Free State, on November 27.

The award, which has eighteen categories, also features six paralympic athletes.

Fans will get to vote for the People’s choice category via SMS.

SEE ALSO: Seven African Athletes Have Been Nominated For The 2016 IAAF World Athlete Of The Year Award

The full list of nominees for the 2016 SA Sports Awards is:

Sport Star of the Year
Wayde van Niekerk
Caster Semenya
Kagiso Rabada

Sportswoman of the Year
Jenna Ward
Caster Semenya
Phumza Maweni


Sportsman of the Year
Wayde van Niekerk
Hank McGregor
Chad le Clos

People’s Choice Award
Chad le Clos
Wayde van Niekerk
Caster Semenya
Kagiso Rabada
Seabelo Senatla

van Niekerk

SEE ALSO: Boxer Feels Responsible For The Death Of Opponent Who Passed Away After Fight

Team of the Year
Rowing (men’s coxless pair)
Mamelodi Sundowns

Coach of the Year
Pitso Mosimane
Anna Botha
Jean Verster
Suzanne Ferreira

Newcomer of the Year Award
Henri Schoeman
Brad Binder
Ntando Mahlangu

RIO DE JANEIRO, BRAZIL - SEPTEMBER 14: (L_R) Silver medalist Hania Aidi of Tunisia, gold medalist Flora Ugwunwa of Nigeria and bronze medalist Ntombizanele Situ of South Africa pose on the podium at the medal ceremony for Women's Javelin Throw - F53/54 during day 7 of the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games at the Olympic Stadium on September 13, 2016 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. (Photo by Lucas Uebel/Getty Images)

Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability
Zanele Situ
Anruné Liebenberg
Ilse Hayes

Sportsman of the Year with Disability
Charl du Toit
Dyan Buis
Reinhardt Hamman

Volunteer of the Year
Kim Pople
Carol Blignaut
Charles Villet

Photographer of the Year
Sydney Mahlangu
Christian Kotze
Reg Caldecott

Journalist of the Year
David van der Sandt
Thabiso Sithole
Kwena Moabelo

SEE ALSO: Serge Aurier Cleared Of Charges From Throat-slitting Gesture

School Team of the Year
St Benedict’s – Rowing
La Rochelle Girls School – Athletics
Paarl Boys High School – Rugby

Recreation Body of the Year
Egoli Squash
Fight with Insight

egoli-squash SA Sports Awards: Full List Of Nominees

Indigenous Games Team of the Year
Limpopo Ilncuva
North West Khokho
KZN Kgatli Team