Super Eagles’ Coach — See Who Has Been Shortlisted

Since former Super Eagles’ player, Sunday Oliseh resigned as the Super Eagles’ coach, the Nigerian national football team has been in search of a replacement.

The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has shortlisted a number of candidates for a job. The new Super Eagles’ coach could be Tom Sainfiet, Salisu Yusuf, or Paul Le Guen.

SEE ALSO:  Former Nigerian Footballer And Coach Stephen Keshi Passes On.

Sainfiet is of Belgian origin. The 43 year-old had previously coached  had once coached the Ethiopian national team, as well as that of Namibia, Zimbabwe, Yemen, Malawi and Togo. He has also coached younger teams such as;  Qatar U-17 team, Young Africans FC of Tanzania and Free State Stars FC in South Africa.

Salisu Yusuf is the current caretaker coach of the Super Eagles, having helped won the friendlies against Mali and Luxembourg in May. He also worked as an assistant under former Super Eagles’ coach, Samson Siasia and the late Stephen Keshi.

He has coached top Nigerian Premier League clubs such as the Kano Pillars, Enyimba FC,and  El-Kanemi Warriors. The 54 year-old won FA Cup titles with El-Kanemi Warriors of Maiduguri as a player and was capped by Nigeria at U-20 level.

Paul Le Guen qualified the Indomitable Lions of Cameroon for the 2010 FIFA World Cup finals. The 52 year-old won 17 caps for France and played for Brest, Nantes and Paris Saint Germain. He also coached Rennes, Lyon, PSG and Glasgow Rangers.

Chairman of the Technical and Development Committee, Chris Green, told “We set a criteria with which we evaluated the nearly two dozen applications and then agreed on the three persons that we shortlisted.

SEE ALSO: What Happens In A Footballer’s Brain When They Miss A Penalty

“The Committee will meet on Monday, 18th July 2016 to interview the shortlisted candidates and immediately name the next Super Eagles’ Head Coach.”

Over 20 coaches applied for the job of being in charge of the Nigerian national team. Some of them included; Giovanni Solinas, Saintfiet, Hey Antoine, Mark Wotte, Yusuf, Ernesto Paulo Calvinho, Dorian Marin, Le Guen, Miodrag Jesic, Perry Hansen, Ove Pedersen, Adebayo Lateef Kola, Sylvanus Okpala, Peter Ijeh, Vladimir Petrovic-Pizon, Lodewijk de Kruif, Kenichi Yatsuhashi, Bjorn Frank Peters and Ricki Herbert.