Stop WhatsApp From Giving Facebook Your Phone Number With These Steps

Since Facebook purchased Whatsapp for $19 billion (£14 billion) in 2014, there’s been increasing updates and all whatnots. The latest in this trend is the ability of Whatsapp to give Facebook your number. Whatsapp wants to give Facebook your number and other data so as to help its parent company run analytics to make Facebook more personal.

“By coordinating more with Facebook, we’ll be able to do things like track basic metrics about how often people use our services and better fight spam on WhatsApp,” WhatsApp said in a blog.

How Facebook and Whatsapp work together

Facebook and Whatsapp have several similarities including allowing users to place both voice and video calls from the within their apps. Although calls over WiFi are free, calls over cellular networks are subject to data limits; either way, Facebook and Whatsapp offer a nicer alternative than other video-chatting apps. Plus the former offer it messenger and Whatsapp as free downloads

While all these freebies from both social media platforms might seem like a welcome deal, we can’t overlook the fact that by offering free solutions, Facebook is able to attract more users and get to both services, registering billions of users – enough for the social network to make significant sum through advertising.

For instance, sharing your contact on Facebook means you’ll get friend requests from people you talk to in Whatsapp. You will also receive ads that are targeted personally at you, based on the data retrieved from Whatsapp. You can read the full WhatsApp privacy policy here. While the contents of WhatsApp messages such as words and images are end-to-end encrypted, meaning that the app cannot read them, it does have data including phone numbers and information about users’ phones and operating systems.

That’s quite harmless unless you do not want everyone on your WhatsApp contact being friends with you on Facebook. If the latter is your case, then you better opt-out from this new update. And you have less than 30 days to opt out of the setting. Yes, although there’s a way to pull out of this setting, you don’t have forever.

Also, keep in mind that Facebook said it would not reveal phone numbers by displaying them on its profiles but would use the data to improve its friend suggestion algorithm.

Therefore, agreeing to the policy means users who have your phone number saved in their phone may begin to start seeing your profile pop up in friend suggestions since Facebook will now be able to link your phone number with your account.

How to prevent Whatsapp from sharing your number with Facebook

There are two ways to prevent Whatsapp from sharing your number with Facebooks. You could either:

A. Read The Terms And Conditions

Image result for whatsapp number facebook setting
Uncheck this box before tapping ‘Agree’

This is one of those times that skipping the terms and conditions and just clicking ‘Agree’ is bound to cost you. After updating your Whatsapp (which you should do immediately), read the terms and conditions. Scroll all the way to the bottom, there’s a box that’s checked to enable WhatsApp to give your number to Facebook, uncheck it.

B. Whatsapp Settings

whatsapp number facebook setting
Uncheck the box and tap ‘ Don’t Share’

Now we are sure some updated their Whatsapp without checking out the terms and conditions. If you are one of those, there’s no need to panic, you just need to change your Whatsapp settings. When you go into your Whatsapp settings, tap ‘Account’, go to ‘Share my account info’ and uncheck the box that enables Whatsapp to share your number with Facebook.

However, WhatsApp has not sent the updated permissions request to all of its users yet, hence, if you have not been asked to approve the terms and conditions then you are currently not affected by the changes.

Facebook and WhatsApp have made huge success as social media networks. Both are platform-agnostic; they can be used on Androids, the Web and iOS. So, even if users decide to transfer to another platform, they can start immediately to call or chat with a new device. Users can also engage in group chats and are not limited in the number of messages they can send to others.