Full List Of Winners For The 22nd Edition Of The SAMA

The 22nd edition of the SAMA (South African Music Awards) held on Saturday, June 4 at the Durban International Convention Centre.

This year’s SAMA proved to be quite colourful with South African musicians and media personalities turning up in all their finery for the event.

The full list of winners for the 22nd SAMA is found below, along with some pictures from the night:

Album of the Year (served hot by Nescafe)

  • Black Coffee – Pieces of Me

Duo or Group of the Year

  • Big Nuz – For the Fans

Female Artist of the Year (Brought to you by Metro FM)

  • Zonke – Work of Heart

Male Artist of the Year (Brought to you by Umhlobo Wenene FM)

  • Nathi – Buyelekhaya

Newcomer of the Year (Supported by Apple Music)

  • Nathi – Buyelekhaya


Best Rock Album

  • Desmond & the Tutus – Enjoy Yourself

Best Pop Album (Brought to you by 5FM)

  • Tresor – VII

Best Pop Album (Afrikaans)

  • Karlien van Jaarsveld – My Hartjie


Best Adult Contemporary Album

  • Judith Sephuma – One Word

Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album

  • Elvis Blue – Êrens in die Middel van Nêrens

Best African Adult Album

  • Dizu Plaatjies & Friends – Ubuntu – The Common String

Best Alternative Album

  • Petite Noir – La Vie Est Belle/Life is Beautiful

Best R&B/Soul/Reggae Album

  • Nathi – Buyelekhaya

Best Rap Album

  • Emtee – Avery

Best Kwaito Album (Brought to you by Ukhozi FM)

  • Big Nuz – For the Fans

Best Dance Album

  • Black Coffee – Pieces of Me

Best Traditional Faith Music Album

  • TYGC Family – The Journey Begins


Best Contemporary Faith Music Album

  • Ntokozo Mbambo – Spirit and Life

Best Maskandi Album (Brought to you by Ukhozi FM and KUMISA)

  • Imithente – Ichakijana

Best Jazz Album (Brought to you by Metro FM)

  • Marcus Wyatt & the ZAR – One Night in the Sun Jazz Orchestra

Best Classical and/or Instrumental Album

  • Wouter Kellerman – Love Language

Best Live Audiovisual Recording

  • Jimmy Dludlu – Live at Emperors Palace

Best Collaboration

  • Dbn Nyts ft. Zinhle Ngidi – Shumaya & Trademark

Best Music Video of the Year

  • Jack Parow & Freshly Ground Army of One

Best Produced Album of the Year

  • Zahara – Country Girl


Best Engineered Album of the Year

  • Black Coffee – Pieces of Me

Best Remix of the Year

  • DJ Sliqe – Do Like I Do Remix

Special Awards

  • International Achievement Award – Black Coffee
  • Lifetime Achievement Awards (Brought to you by Telkom)– Nana Coyote (posthumous award), Bhekumuzi Luthuli (posthumous award), Roger Lucey


Best Selling Albums and Music Downloads of the Year

  • Best Selling Album – Nathi (Buyelekhaya)
  • Best Selling DVD – Joyous Celebration (Volume 19: Back to the Cross)
  • Best Selling Overall Music Download – Sfiso Ncwane (Bayede Baba)
  • Best Selling Music Download (Ring-back Tone) – Sfiso Ncwane (Bayede Baba)
  • Best Selling Full-track Music Download – Nathi (Nomvula)

Sampra Award

  • Highest Radio Airplay of the Year – DBN Nyts (Shumaya)

Samro Award

  • Highest Radio Airplay Composers’ Award – Samkele Maphumulo, Kabelo Masekane, Cebo Ngcobo, Wanda Shabalala and Lwazi Yokwana for Shumaya by Dbn Nyts

Capasso Award

  • Best Selling Digital Download Composers’ Award – Sfiso Ncwane (Bayede Baba)

Amstel Record of the year

  • Roll Up by Emtee

About SAMA

The SAMA is hosted by RiSA annually and has at its heart the need to honour South Africa’s best music talent. The prize is, of course, a highly coveted statuette given over the course of two days at the South African Music Awards. The awards also feature nominees storming the stage giving a number of never-to-be-repeated performances.

How to Enter for SAMA

Entry forms for SAMA are to be filled in and submitted online at the website www.samusicawards.co.za. The completed forms are meant to go with the following;

  • A prescribed number of copies of the entered album, single or DVD;
  • Any other material required for the particular category (see checklist on entry form); and
  • The entry fee for each category.
  • Proof of payment of the prescribed RiSA levies in respect of all the units manufactured up to the date of entry of the entered album or Live Audio Visual Recording/DVD, if the entry was released by a member of RiSA.

All these need to be submitted prior to the closing date for nominations for the SAMA.

  • Cash Prizes for 24th Edition SAMA
  • Winners of the 24th Edition of the SAMA can look forward to the following cash prizes:
  • Top 5 categories (excluding “Album of the Year‟) – R 15 000.00
  • Alum of the year – R 25 000.00
  • Genre categories – R 10 000.00
  • Lifetime achievement award – R 20 000.00
  • International achievement – R 20 000.00
  • Technical awards – R 10 000.00
  • Best selling awards – R 10 000.00
  • Public vote category – R20 000.00


Featured Today

Related Stories