Is Africa a Country or a Continent

It is amazing that some people would get confused about the second largest continent in the World. Africa is not a country but a continent and one of the major ones in that regard. It is not like Australia that is a country as well as a continent.

The misconception in thinking that Africa is a country rather than a continent is fueled by the media and those who more often than not project Africa as a country damaged by war, famine and corruption. Africa is a continent with 54 different countries that it supports. The largest black continent in the world and home to more than 1 billion people in the world hence 1 in 7 of any human on earth is an African.

Why Africa is not A Country

Africa is a disintegrated and segmented group of people that has been, even before the name Africa evolved. They appear as species of their own kind following different fathers & origins and in connection with their black Races… In answering the question “is Africa a country?” It is noteworthy that the origin of Africa cannot be traced to a singular entity. The appearance & race of Africans are meant to  keep the populace recognized as a country, but the various tongues & origin has made them people of different groups, and with this, they are not fit to be called a country. Taking the variations in language for instance, England could be looked at as one of the countries which appeared as a true unified country when language and origin is carefully considered and when the same factors are used in the case of Nigeria, it would mean that Nigeria would rather be recognized as a continent because of the various origins and differences in the language of its citizens.

In essence, Africa is a continent with over 50 independent countries that are internationally recognized. Below is a list of countries in Africa.

List of African Countries

  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • Benin
  • Botswana
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Cape Verde
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Comoros
  • Congo
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Cote d’Ivoire
  • Djibouti
  • Egypt
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Senegal
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Sudan (North)
  • South Sudan (Rep.)
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania
  • Togo
  • Tunisia
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe