Seven African Athletes Have Been Nominated For The 2016 IAAF World Athlete Of The Year Award

20 Athletes have been nominated for the 2016 IAAF World athlete of the year award. Among the 20 are 7 African athletes.

The Africans who made the shortlist are South Africa’s Caster Semenya and Wayde Van Niekerk, Ethiopia’s Almaz Ayana, Kenya’s David Rudisha, Vivian Cheruiyot, Conseslus Kipruto and Eliud Kipchoge.

SEE ALSO: All The African Winners At The Rio Olympics

Supporters will get to vote on the IAAF’s social media platforms.

Some of the African athletes are popular for smashing records at the Summer Olympic games in Rio, Brazil. Van Niekerk won a gold medal breaking a 17-year-old 400m world record.

Ethiopia’s Almaz Ayana broke a 10,000m world record in  29:17.46 – 42 seconds faster than the previous record.

Kenyan Conseslus Kipruto won the men’s 3,000m steeplechase gold medal in Rio in an Olympic record time of 8 minutes 3.28 seconds. Vivian Cheruiyot won gold in the 5k metres, breaking the Olympic record with a time of 14 minutes 26.17 seconds.

2016 IAAF World Athlete Of The Year: 7 Africans Nominated

The voting process is a three-way process. The IAAF Council, the IAAF Family, and fan votes. The IAAF family will vote by email while the fans will vote online through the IAAF’s Facebook and Twitter, a ‘like’ or ‘favourite’ will count as one vote.

The IAAF Council’s vote counts for 50%‚ while the IAAF Family and the fans each have 25% of the remaining 50%.

The awards are split into two categories; male and female. The winners will be announced at the IAAF Awards Night in Monaco on Friday 2 December 2016. Voting closes on November 1.

SEE ALSO: Nigeria Makes A Good Start With A 2-1 Victory In 2018 World Cup Qualifier

The other nominees for the 2016 IAAF World athlete of the year are:


Usain Bolt (JAM)

Thiago Braz da Silva (BRA)

Ashton Eaton (USA)

Mo Farah (GBR)

Eliud Kipchoge (KEN)

Conseslus Kipruto (KEN)

Omar McLeod (JAM)

David Rudisha (KEN)

Christian Taylor (USA)

Wayde van Niekerk (RSA)


Almaz Ayana (ETH)

Ruth Beitia (ESP)

Vivian Cheruiyot (KEN)

Kendra Harrison (USA)

Caterine Ibarguen (COL)

Ruth Jebet (BRN)

Sandra Perkovic (CRO)

Caster Semenya (RSA)

Elaine Thompson (JAM)

Anita Wlodarczyk (POL)