Kudu Awards: Entries Deadline Extended

The entry deadline for the 2016 Kudu awards has been extended to September 23, 2016. Nominations are now opened again for individuals and organisations.

The Kudu awards is organised by South African National Parks (SANParks), in partnership with First National Bank (FNB), and Total South Africa. It is an award created to laud individuals and organisations which go the extra mile to protect the environment through conservation and other key ecological principles to ensure sustainable development.

SEE ALSO: An Afforestation Project Will See Kenya Plant A 5.1 Million Hectare Forest

“The Kudu Awards are becoming one of the best conservation awards programmes in the country in which a lot of companies, individuals as well as community groups, enter to showcase their work around environment and conservation of natural resources,” SANParks Acting Head of Communications, William Mabasa said.

The winners will be declared after nominees have gone through a detailed process by the panel of judges.

recipients of kudu awards

The winner gets a financial reward, in addition to exposure, giving them an upper hand in the industry.

“In addition to receiving a thorough summary of all comments by judges, whether positive or negative, finalists and winners receive a financial reward and widespread exposure which gives them a definite competitive edge to their peers, particularly around their passion for our parks and all have a need to be recognised as the best in the conservation of our biodiversity.”

The deadline for entries has been shifted from the initial August 15 to September 23.

Nomination forms are available on the SANParks website. The form also includes nomination guidelines to ensure that nominees meet the required criteria.

SEE ALSO: Check Out The Way Tanzania Is Using Condoms To Protect Elephants

The awards consist of eight different categories including:

  • Corporate Contribution to Conservation,
  • Environmental Media Contribution to Conservation,
  • Community Contribution to Conservation,
  • Environmental Education/Capacity Building,
  • Individual Contribution to Conservation,
  • Professional Stakeholders;
  • Associated Partners and the
  • Website Community Choice award

The award winners will be announced at a function in Gauteng in November.