Have A Look At All The Beautiful Southern African Capitals

Southern Africa is the region in the southernmost part of the continent. This region consists of 13 countries, including three islands.

It is also home to several tourist attractions including the river Zambezi, Victoria Falls, Robben Island and various safaris.

There are 16 Southern African capitals although there are geographically 13 southern African countries. This owes to two countries having more than one capital.

Categorizing Southern Africa can be a tad difficult. The United Nations characterizes this region as belonging to Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa and Swaziland.

The regional bloc South African Development Community has 9 more countries added to the UN list including DR Congo and Tanzania which are geographically Central Africa and Eastern Africa respectively.

We have however used a geographical criteria to show you all the southern African capitals — the government seat.

1. Luanda, Angola

luanda, angola
Luanda is the capital and largest city in Angola and home to about 3 million people.

2. Gaborone, Botswana

Gaborone, Botswana.
Gaborone is Botswana’s capital. It is home to more than 200,000 people and also home to the home to the SADC

3. Maseru, Lesotho

Maseru, Lesotho
Maseru is both the capital of the Kingdom of Lesotho and Maseru district.

SEE ALSO: 10 Most Stunning African Cities You’ve Never Seen

4. Antananarivo, Madagascar

Antananarivo, Madagascar
Antananarivo is Madagascar’s capital. It was once the home of Merina kingdom from the 17th century

5. Lilongwe, Malawi

Lilongwe, Malawi
Lilongwe is Malawi’s capital city and the largest at that with a population of over 600,000

6. Port Louis, Mauritius

Port Louis, Mauritius
Port Louis is Mauritius’ economic, cultural, political centre and most populous city.

7. Maputo, Mozambique

Maputo, Mozambique
Maputo is a port on the Indian Ocean which serves as Mozambique’s capital

SEE ALSO: See These Beautiful Images Of African Cities At Night

8. Windhoek, Namibia

Windhoek, Namibia
Namibia’s capital city, Windhoek is also its largest city located in central Namibia

9. Victoria, Seychelles

Victoria, Seychelles
Victoria is Seychelles’capital. It once served as the seat of the British colonial government.

10. Bloemfontein, South Africa

Bloemfontein south africa
Bloemfontein is one of the three South African capitals. It is also the judicial capital of the nation.


SEE ALSO: Photos Speak: All The Beautiful West African Capitals

11. Cape Town, South Africa

cape town south africa
Cape Town is the provincial capital of South Africa. It is also known as its legislative capital.


12. Pretoria, South Africa

pretoria south africa
Pretoria is one of the three South African capitals. It serves as the executive capital.


13. Lobamba, Swaziland

lobamba swaziland
Lobamba is one of the two Swaziland capitals. It is the traditional, spiritual, and legislative seat of the country.


14. Mbabane, Swaziland

mbabane swaziland
Mbabane is Swaziland’s other capital which is also its largest city


15. Lusaka, Zambia

lusaka zambia
Lusaka is the capital and largest city in Zambia.


SEE ALSO: 10 Tourist Destinations In Zimbabwe

16. Harare, Zimbabwe

Harare Zimbabwe
harare is Zimbabwe’s capital and home to over 1.6 million people