20 Flags Of The World And The History Behind Them

However they are, they always say something about the nation. The flags of the world vary distinctly from one nation to the other; in the same way the national history behind the design differs from one nation to the other. Embedded in a flag is a range of so many things, past struggles, peaceful existence, a vision, an ideal that the nation strives to uphold. The flag is not just some piece of cloth with colors and designs on it, it is symbolic of the wholesome image of the country. Every flag stands for something important, thus respected.

Ever wondered why the ripping of a nation’s flag is a clear indication of war? Why are flags displayed before several national and international occasions, soccer inclusive? Why are national flags saluted? Why is it stationed in vital institutions and even more demands so much of a ceremony to either raise or lower the flag? That is just how much a nation’s flag is worth and revered; a physical piece and signifier of solidarity. Not any artist is qualified to design this symbolic piece, from the conception and execution of ideas demands a whole reputable team- from the historians to the very least person in the team is crucially important. As said earlier, every sign, symbol and color says something about the owner-nation; thus the design has to be soothing to the image of the nation.

20. China


The Chinese flag of a plain red field and 5 golden stars- 4 small stars and a large one ; was adopted on October 1, 1949. The Chinese flag speaks volume about the communist revolution- the relationship amongst the people and the effectiveness of the communist leadership. The flag which  generally represents the Chinese tradition was designed by Zeng Liasong.

19. South Africa

SA Flag

The South African flag was first raised on 31st May 1928 and later officially adopted on April 27, 1994, after their independence and the swearing-in of Nelson Mandela. The flag was and is a sign of freedom and hope for the long over-due oppressed nation. As a direct influence of Madiba, the horizontal Y shape in the flag represents the unity in diversity concept of the country. The South African flag also shares some details with the ACN banner.

18. Syria


The flag bears references from the French Pan-Arabic flag. Syria in recent times is popular for disheartening reasons, however the country has an identity worth knowing. The two stars – depending on the point-of-view – either represent Syria and Egypt, or Syria and Iraq.

17. Aruba


Aruba is a dutch Caribbean Island and in fact one of a tourist’s favorite spot- the blue represents the sea that surrounds Aruba; yellow is the color of abundance while the stripes represents the nation’s stand with regards to Netherlands and other islands ; red is for love; and white is for the beaches. The flag day is celebrated with so much grandiose every March 18.

16. Seychelles


The current Seychelles flag is the third national ensign to be used by the country since independence on June 29, 1976. The flag was officially adopted on January 8, 1996.The flag is characterized by 5 diagonal colors which represent the colors of the country’s major political parties as well as the anticipated dynamics and prospects of the country’s future during her struggle for independence.